Sight Seeing in Elgin

Biblical Gardens, behind wall adjacent to the Cathedral.  Experience a unique atmosphere in a tranquil corner of historic Elgin.

Cooper Park.  The forty acres of the park, together with Grant lodge, built around 1750 as the residence of the Earls of Seafield, were gifted to the town in 1902.  The park provides an excellent range of recreational facilities.

Elgin Museum.  The award- winning museum houses a major display ‘The story of Moray’ (from dinosaurs to the present day) as well as Pictish sculpture and foreign travellers. Shop selling books, jewellery and local crafts.  Open April – October.

Moray Motor Museum.  Veteran, Vintage and Classic cars and motorcycles plus memorabilia from days gone by.  Open daily, Easter to October.

Millbuies Country Park.  5 miles south of Elgin off A941 to Rothes,  is a peaceful beauty spot with pleasant walks and trout fishing.

Spynie Palace.  2 miles north of Elgin off the A941 is Spynie Palace, which was the residence of the powerful Bishops of Moray for some 5 centuries from about the end of the twelth century.  Both james 1 and James 11 made use of the Bishops’ hospitality when travelling in the north. Mary, Queen of Scots stayed there in 1562 as the guest of Patrcik Hepburn, the last Catholic bishop.  Open April – September.  Vistor shop and picnic area.